Flags Galore


You see a lot of flags on La Palma. Most English visitors will recognise the flags of Spain and the European Union.

But the Canary Islands are an autonomous region within Spain, and they have their own flag too. You see it a lot, especially around May 30th, which is Canary Day.

And then each island has its own flag. Here’s the flag of La Palma:
La Palma
And as if that weren’t enough, La Palma has 14 municipalities, each of which twelve has its own flag.

Santa Cruz Breña Baja Los Llanos
Puntagorda Puntallana Tazacorte
El Paso Barlovento Breña Alta
Flag of Villa de Mazo
Garafía Mazo Tijarafe
Flag of Fuencaliente Flag of San Andres y Sauces
Fuencaliente San Andres y Sauces

(The other two municipalities are San Andres y Sauces and Fuencaliente)

Posted by sheila

Sheila came to La Palma with a six month contract and has stayed 24 years so far. She used to work as a software engineer at the observatory, but now she's a writer and Starlight guide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.